Because fundraising raffles are considered games of chance, they are tightly regulated by the State of Georgia. The Sheriff's Office is charged with enforcing Georgia's Raffle laws.
Georgia law §16-12-22.1 requires any entity performing a raffle to obtain a license from the Sheriff’s Office of the county in which the nonprofit tax-exempt organization is located.
Who can obtain a raffle license?
The only organizations permitted to operate a raffle are tax-exempt churches, schools, civic organizations or other related support groups; nonprofit organizations qualified under §501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code; or bona fide nonprofit organizations approved by the Sheriff.
What are the requirements?
Must complete and submit application.
Tax-exempt organization must have been in existence for a minimum of 24 months.
Determination letters from the Internal Revenue Service and the Georgia Department of Revenue certifying applicant is a tax-exempt entity must be provided.
If location where the raffle is conducted is leased or rented, a copy of the lease or rental agreement must be provided
What are the fees?
Due to the current economic downturn, the Sheriff of Henry County has waived the $100 annual fee.
Where do I send the application?
Send completed applications to:
Henry County Sheriff's Office
Attn: Raffle License
120 Henry Pkwy.
McDonough, GA 30223
Or FAX completed application attention to: 770-288-7119 (You MUST include your telephone number to be notified that your permit is ready)
If you have further questions, contact Donna Nawrocki (click on her name for email) or call her at 770-288-7124.
All raffle permits expire at midnight on December 31 following the granting of the license.
Operating a raffle without a license or failing to meet the requirements of statute is a violation of Georgia law and subject to prosecution. Operating without a license is committing the offense of commercial gambling as defined by Georgia Code §16-12-22. Conviction is considered a felony and may be punishable by imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five years and/or a fine not to exceed $20,000. Any person violating the permit/operational requirements may be found guilty of a high and aggravated misdemeanor. A second conviction of such an act would be considered a felony and subject to imprisonment of not less than one year nor more than five and/or a fine not to exceed $10,000.